Skip to content

L.A. City Council certifies last month’s election results

Los Angeles City Hall. (13669)
Los Angeles City Hall.

LOS ANGELES, Calif. — The Los Angeles City Council today voted unanimously to certify last month’s general and special elections results.

The city clerk’s final tally, which includes results for LAUSD and college district elections, also confirmed that turnout on May 21 was at 23.3 percent, 45 percent of voters submitted their ballots by mail instead of going to the polls on election day, according to that tally.

Councilman Eric Garcetti was elected mayor with 222,300 votes, which, according to an analysis by the Los Angeles Times, is less than any other non-incumbent mayor elected since the 1930s. The 23.3 percent turnout is also the lowest for runoff mayoral races of the last 100 years.

Wendy Greuel trailed Garcetti, with 187,609 votes.

The certification of the election results today wraps up the most expensive Southland election season on record, with independent expenditure committees and candidates in city and LAUSD races having racked up almost $54 million in expenses, according to Ethics Commission figures.

The previous record was set in 2001 during a primary and general election race in which James Hahn and Antonio Villaraigosa squared off in a fight for the mayor’s seat. Candidates and outside groups at that time ran up $44.9 million in expenses, and voter turnout during the runoff, held in June, was 37.67 percent.

Garcetti won 54.23 percent of the vote to Greuel’s 45.76 percent in last month’s elections, according to the certified results. Carmen Trutanich, the incumbent city attorney, drew 37.72 percent, losing his seat to Mike Feuer, who took in 62.27 percent. Ron Galperin led Dennis Zine with 56.6 percent to come out ahead in the runoff for the controller’s seat.

In the 1st District, Gilbert Cedillo edged out Jose Gardea with 51.95 percent of the vote. Curren Price, Jr., won the 9th District council seat with 52.39 percent of the vote to Ana Cubas’ 47.6 percent, while Mitch O’Farrell beat out John Choi in the 13th District with 52.75 percent of the vote.

Proposition C, which calls for a constitutional amendment to limit corporate or interest group spending on political campaigns, passed with an overwhelming 76.65 percent of the vote. Proposition D, a measure regulating medical marijuana and limiting the number of pot shops to 135, was approved by a 62.43 percent margin, besting two competing marijuana measures.

In a special election, Nury Martinez, with 24.29 percent of the votes, and Cindy Montanez, with 43.23 percent, advanced to a July 23 runoff election for the 6th District council seat.

The Los Angeles City Clerk handled two races outside the City of Los Angeles, each with a little less than 6 percent of registered voters turning out.

In the race for the District 6 seat on the Board of Education of the City of Los Angeles, fifth-grade teacher Monica Ratliff, with 51.76 percent of the votes, defeated Antonio Sanchez.

Incumbent Nancy Pearlman defeated challenger David Vela by a 56.73 percent margin to retain the District 6 seat on the Los Angeles Community Collect District board.