Skip to content

Compton 2021 primary election results


Compton is one step closer to electing the city’s next mayor.

The City of Compton’s primary election was held April 20. However, only 11 percent of registered voters participated. Specifically, of the city’s 49,133 registered voters, less than 6,000 ballots were cast in the primary election, according to the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk.

According to election officials, 93 percent of ballots were cast as mail-in ballots due to the pandemic.

Mayoral candidate Cristian Reynaga finished first in the primary election, garnering 1,569 votes (29.3 percent). Councilwoman Emma

Sharif, who is also running for mayor, finished second in the primary with 1,068 votes (19.9 percent).

After finishing in the top two spots amongst ten mayoral candidates, Reynaga and Sharif are expected to face-off in the city’s runoff election.

Both are vying to replace outgoing mayor Aja Brown, who is not seeking re-election. The incumbent’s decision means Compton will have its

first change in leadership since 2013, when Brown made history as the youngest mayor ever elected in Compton.

Sharif, who currently represents the city’s 4th district, said she is the only candidate with experience as an elected official.

Reynaga is an entrepreneur, who has community-based experience serving as the vice-chair of the Compton Taxpayer Committee and vice-chair of the community relations commission.

Meanwhile, community advocates said key issues going forward in Compton include the city’s current budget deficit. Voters are also eager to hear candidates plans for improving public safety, addressing homelessness, economic development and COVID-19 recovery.

In other election results:

• Damon Brown received 100 percent of the votes for City Attorney.

• Incumbent Alita Godwin received 53 percent of votes for City Clerk, compared to her opponent Lynn Boone, who received 47 percent of votes.

• Satra Zurita received 39 percent of votes for City Treasurer. Brandon Mims finished a close second with 38 percent of votes.

Incumbent Douglas Sanders finished third with 22 percent of votes and will not move on to the general election.

• Challenger Andre Spicer received 35 percent of votes in the district 2 city council race. Incumbent Isaac Galvan finished second with 26 percent of votes. Spicer and Galvan will faceoff in the June 2021 election.

• Meanwhile, in the District 3 City Council primary election, incumbent Tana McCoy received 34 percent of votes. Challenger Jonathan Bowers finished second with 25 percent votes.

The top two remaining candidates in each race will go head to head in the general election, which will take place on June 1.