Skip to content

Former Dodger Steve Garvey fails in Hall of Fame bid


Former Los Angeles Dodgers first baseman Steve Garvey has failed to receive enough votes to be elected to baseball’s Hall of Fame.

Garvey received six votes from a 16-member committee that met Sunday in San Diego at baseball’s winter meetings. Twelve votes—75 percent of the committee—were required for election to the Hall of Fame.

Ted Simmons, a catcher for the St. Louis Cardinals and two other teams during a 21-year career from 1968-88, and the late Marvin Miller, who headed the Major League Baseball Players Association from 1966-82, were elected to the Hall of Fame, receiving 13 and 12 votes respectively.

Simmons fell one vote short of being elected when individuals from what the Hall of Fame defines as the Modern Baseball Era—candidates whose greatest contributions to baseball came from 1970 to 1987—were last considered for election to the Hall of Fame in December 2017.

Miller received seven votes in 2017, five short of the 75 percent needed for election.

The other former Dodger on Sunday’s ballot, Tommy John, was among four candidates receiving three or fewer votes. The exact total was not released by the Hall of Fame.

Dwight Evans, who attended Granada Hills and Chatsworth high schools before becoming one of 34 major leaguers with at least 1,300 runs scored, 1,300 RBI and 1,300 walks, received eight votes.

Figures from the Modern Baseball Era are considered twice in a five-year period for election to the Hall of Fame. They will next be considered in 2022.

The committee appointed by the Hall of Fame to evaluate the Modern Baseball Era candidates consisted of a number of southlanders who went on to election to the Hall of Fame including George Brett of El Segundo; Eddie Murray and Ozzie Smith of Compton; Robin Yount of Woodland Hills; Rod Carew; Dennis Eckersley; six major league executives; and four media members or historians.

The closest Garvey came to being elected to the Hall of Fame by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America was in 1995, his third year of eligibility, when he received 42.6 percent of the vote. He received over 40 percent two other times.