Skip to content

Local preps receive honors


House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA-23) recognized recently a group of students and teachers in the Antelope Valley and East Kern school districts with the 23rd Congressional District Merit Awards for classroom excellence.

McCarthy released a statement praising the accomplishments of the students and their teachers. “The award embodies superior academic achievement while also recognizing positive values students and educators represent everyday,” McCarthy said. “This event offers our community the opportunity to honor this year’s recipients that inspire the continued advancement of academic success at all levels of education.”

The local students include: Alyssa Tepe, Lancaster High; Julie DeVore, Desert Christian High; Hyeveen Cho, Quartz Hill High; Caeleb Roney, Rosamond High; Miriam Ruiz, Mojave High; Jennifer Phan, Desert High; Ryan Kmet, California City High; Breana Davis, Sherman E. Burroughs High; Kaytee Martz, Boron High, and Ashley Yasin, Kern Valley High.

Educators that were recognized include: David Carver, Lancaster High; Laura Saavedra, Desert Christian High; Jeff Cassady, Quartz Hill High; Terri Ojeda, Rosamond High; Toni Elmore, Mojave High; Debbie Lewis, Desert High; James Clark, California City High; Shari Rosenberg, Sherman E. Burroughs High; David Wiggs, Boron High, and Erin Woodward of Kern Valley High