Skip to content

Lancaster forms committee to assess current election policies


The city of Lancaster has formed a committee to assess its current election policies. The committee is comprised of three city commissioners; Steven Derryberry, Deputy Mayor Cassandra D. Harvey and Ed Galindo, as well as Deputy Mayor Kit Yee Szeto and community member Darren Parker. Derryberry will serve as committee chairperson.

On Tuesday, Aug. 6 at 5 p.m., the committee will be hosting a town hall meeting for residents to gather and express their views, convey what they feel works and doesn’t work, and suggest any ideas they have which may enhance the way the city conducts elections. In particular, one goal of the meeting is to vet out what citizens may think about voting districts in Lancaster.

“Lancaster is a diverse city with people from all walks of life residing here,” said Mayor R. Rex Parris. “The City Council deeply values the opinions of our residents, and hopes this town hall meeting will provide a viable opportunity for all to get engaged in their local political system.”

The town hall will be held in the Lancaster City Hall City Council Chambers, located at 44933 Fern Ave. The monthly Lancaster Neighborhood Vitalization Commission (LNVC) meeting, regularly scheduled at that time and location, will be canceled for that evening.